League for Innovation Literary Contest Winners Announced

Announcing the winners and runners-up for the 2017 League for Innovation Literary Contest! North’s Lisa Wasikowki won first place in the essay category for her entry, “He Doesn’t Know.” In the poetry category, Perri Greeley received an honorable mention for the poem, “A Lengthy Wetness."

First-place winners will advance to the national contest, which is being hosted this year by the Maricopa College District (Phoenix, AZ). Last year, Seattle Colleges District won first place in two of the four categories and the year before that the district had a first and a second at the national level, so the local judges—Mike Hickey (district coordinator), Greg November (North) and Jeb Wyman (Central)—say they are feeling quite optimistic about this year's entries.

All of the local winners and runners-up will receive a cash prize and an engraved plaque to recognize their accomplishment at the annual awards ceremony, which is part of the Board of Trustees meeting on June 8, 2 to 3 p.m. at South Seattle College.

Each year the contest becomes more competitive, and the selections are made only after extensive debate and deliberation. Students who did not win this year are urged to enter the contest again next year.

Posted on: March 22nd, 2017 at 12:16:27

Source Listing

Current News



Need a NetID?

Students: Set one up now!

Employees: See your supervisor.